Why are blogs important?

5 Nov

Let me start off by saying I am new to marketing, I fell into my career by accident and I absolutely love it. I recently graduated from college with a degree in political science…I could tell you a few things about that too if you want to know, but I might have to save that for another blog. I was particularly inspired by a coworker and a book that I’m currently reading Mastering the World of Marketing by Eric Taylor and David Riklan to start writing a blog. One aspect of marketing that I have come to love is web analytics so I decided to share some of the pros and cons of writing a blog and to decode which blogs may be best for you if you are thinking of starting one as well. 

Pros of blogging:

1. A blog is a great way to get your content out there, whatever it may be

2. Keep your writing and research skills up to date

3. Express yourself creatively, blogging is a great outlet for creative minds

4. Receiving positive feedback and criticism

5. If you own a business, it is a great way to share new content with followers and get feedback on your products and services so you can improve

Cons of blogging:

1. Time consuming, you need to be able to devote time and energy to keep your blog as updated as possible

2. Being consistent, if your are creating a blog you should stay on the topic you start out with, otherwise readers will lose interest. For example, I am blogging about my marketing journey and the things I am learning as I grow in the field if I decided to blog about puppies one day it may be weird.

3. Negative criticism, ultimately you may come across some negative critics, you need to be aware and prepared for this

4. Must enjoy writing (to some extent), I’m not necessarily talking about writing 10 page papers like you do in school but having some joy of writing is key for any blog to stay afloat. 

5. Once it’s out there, it’s out there. These are modern times, deleting your blog doesn’t mean your content may not still be out there somewhere. Be aware of archive services and other bloggers picking up your stuff, be prepared for the spotlight. 

 

Analyzing blogs, which one is for you?

Using the analytical services of www.compete.com I will compare several of the most popular blog sites so you can gauge which one may work for you.

  • WordPress.com over 33 MILLION unique visitors per month, site rank #24
  • blogger.com over 5 MILLION unique visitors per month, site rank #258
  • typepad.com over 6 MILLION unique visitors monthly, site rank #223
  • posterous.com over 1.5 MILLION unique visitors monthly, site rank #1,270
  • tumblr.com over 14.5 MILLION unique visitors, site rank #75

Each blog site has their own features, some provide cheap domain name services if you are looking to blog with your own unique domain. I would suggest playing around to see which service you like best, or you could always use them all. 

If you are thinking of starting a blog share and let me know your thoughts!

Please leave a comment :)

